Home Advertise Here Contact Us Diary Dates Galleries Gloucester Works Kingsway Developers Kingsway Maps Link To Us Local Business
Log In Local Contacts Police Reports Regional News Residents’ Association Submit A Post The Q Club Website T&C Youth Crime Prevention

Water Rates – Reduction

Created by Clive

A few months ago (at our 2nd Residents Association meeting), Adrian Hughes mentioned that he had claimed a refund/reduction in his water rates from Severn Trent Water, due to the fact that his surface water doesn’t drain into the main sewage system.

He said that he thought this might apply to many Kingsway Village Residents.

Since then he has furnished me with much information and advice to allow me to pass it on to you all.

Severn Trent Water’s website has an article about surface water drainage (here) which says:

Surface water drainage:

For most of you, the rain that falls on your roofs, yards and other parts of your property drains away to the public sewers. This is called surface water.

We include the cost of removing this surface water in the sewerage charges on your bill. For some customers, surface water or groundwater may not drain into the public sewer. If you are in this category you may be able to claim for a reduction in your sewerage charges of around 36%.

The page includes a link to download a surface water drainage leaflet (which includes an application form) and they also say that you can "call us on 08457 500 500 (local rate) to request a printed copy of the leaflet if you would prefer it."

The leaflet (which you can download and print) covers such subjects as:
Claiming lower sewerage charges
How will I know if I am eligible to claim?
How can I claim a lower sewerage charge?
How will my bills be affected?

Their contact details are:
Severn Trent Water Ltd
2297 Coventry Road
Birmingham B26 3PU
08457 500 500

As a leaflet it looks quite daunting, requiring a house plan etc, but Adrian says:
"They seem to want a lot from the application form but it’s really simple as to what’s required! Draw up a plan of the property, scale not important, and highlight all the positions of down pipes and drains that are soak aways including any on the drive, which I had!
Don’t be to concerned about all the waffle, just draw up your property and submit the application!"

He added "Severn Trent are not very quick in responding but I found withholding payment focuses their attention, just something to make the applicants be aware of!"

So get your copy today and claim your 2008/2009 water rates reduction.

…and finally Adrian said "Unfortunately I cannot claim any praise for this as my neighbour was the one who put me on to it…
His name is Mr Ken Mumford and he lives at 75, Thatcham Ave"

Sorry it’s taken me so long to publish this information, (I won’t bore you with the reasons why excuses) :lol:

Many thanks to Adrian for all your help, and also to Ken for passing this on.


8 Responses to “Water Rates – Reduction”

  1. holbeach miserable Says:

    Water Drainage Rebate

    I don’t know if this has been raised before…

    I recently submitted a claim to Severn Trent Water for a water drainage service charge. (I didnt know if i was entitled to it or not!)

    Anyway, last week I got a reply from STW saying that I was due a refund of £170, as the local roads have not been adopted.

    So people, get on and contact STW for your early Christmas Prezzie.

    All the best,
    HM

  2. Clive Says:

    Hi HM,

    Thanks for the post.

    As you can see… this was raised some time ago; so I appended your comment to the relevant article.

    I strongly suggest that every Kingsway Resident take note and contact STW about this; they won’t volunteer the refunds unless you claim for them!

  3. chumly Says:

    I haven’t contacted STW but got a 50 quid rebate from them for this issue last week; wonder if I should be asking for more?

  4. Clive Says:

    We downloaded the leaflet last week but haven’t sent it yet… But we had a letter today (from their audit department) notifying us of a refund of £120 (for surface water drainage overcharge) so it seems like they may have finally sorted out their act and stopped overcharging in Kingsway now (nice)!

    HM,
    You said

    Anyway, last week I got a reply from STW saying that I was due a refund of £170, as the local roads have not been adopted.

    Are you sure it mentioned “Roads not adopted”? I can’t think why that would make a difference (AFAIK you pay rates even if you’re on totally private property, so I don’t see why non-adopted roads would make a difference)!

    Anyway… I assume the difference in value is due to the size of the house you live in and the length of time since you started paying your water rates in Kingsway.

    If anybody hasn’t heard yet, I recommend you contact Severn Trent.

  5. ceejaytee1979 Says:

    We had a letter from STW stating that we had been overcharged and they credited our account.
    It was nice to get a letter saying “we are giving you money” as opposed to taking it :)

  6. missslc Says:

    I submitted a claim a few weeks ago and had a letter back this week saying they are going to visit my property!
    Hmmm doesn’t look like anyone else has had a visit though!
    Oh well, I’ll keep you posted!! <3

  7. Clive Says:

    Hi misslc,

    Thanks for joining and contributing :)

    Oooh err… that does sound ominous :lol:

    Please let us know how it turns out …and good luck :)

  8. shanemmc Says:

    :P Guess they are visiting me too as I note the wife has posted on here saying so :lol:
    Just think… A reduction in water rates :D

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

 

© www.kingsway-villagers.co.uk All Rights Reserved